Facebook Addiction

by joanieims201

http://sickfacebook.com/rid-facebook-addiction-6-steps/

This website shows 6 steps to get rid of a Facebook addiction. It seems rather funny that there is even something called “Facebook addiction”, and while I think it is meant to be a joke, I feel that I too am a Facebook addict!

Whenever I have free time, when a class is too boring, in between classes, before bed, when I wake up…I CHECK FACEBOOK! I can’t help but love it and hate it at the same time.

As a Communication major, I realize my use of Facebook and other media outlets/ways of communication are crucial to my success. Last week my boyfriend asked me to go on a “1 week without media” with him. My answer? HECK NO! The fact that I am always on Facebook is a problem, but I still feel like I need it to keep in touch with family, friends, and groups for school projects. 

Maybe the problem isn’t Facebook, but maybe it is that we use it too much for pointless stuff. If I only used Facebook for what I said I need it for, my usage time would be cut dramatically…but I just love looking at everyone’s photos, writing on their pointless statuses, writing my own pointless statuses, and other stuff that doesn’t have anything to do with actually interacting with my Facebok friends for a purpose.

I decided to keep my Facebook even though I am what I would called a full-blown Facebook addict. I think that in college we use Facebook more because we have so much control over our time, since we don’t go to class for 8 hours a day. I feel that when I enter the “real world” I will have to balance my time a lot better based on the needs of my family, job, and my friends. I think that in the future I will be better at limiting my Facebook use, but don’t see a point in getting rid of my account forever.

